Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Wingless Warriors top card at MRP
5 divisions offered in 4 wheel free for all!
By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - April 24, 2013 --- The MRP Wingless Warriors will once again perform their 100MPH sideways-slide at Marysville Raceway Park Saturday night. With no wings or airfoils of any type allowed, these fast 360 sprint cars leave it up to the driver’s bravery and skill to get to the checkered flag. Point leader “Rowdy” McClenon from Biggs has jumped to the top of the standings with two consecutive 2nd place finishes.

Sacramento’s Tim Sherman Jr. is 2nd in the title hunt with a spectacular victory on opening night. He rode the cushion all night for that victory.

Veteran pro Peter Paulson of Woodland will shed his wing and go after his first victory of the new season. Paulson drives both winged and wingless cars during the season. Paulson is 3rd in points just 2 markers behind Sherman Jr. and 8 behind McClenon. With 50 points available on each race night, the standings could shuffle significantly Saturday.

Marysville’s Jeremy Hawes hasn’t won yet, and that’s a surprise. Hawes has had consecutive weekends with problems that have mired him in 5th in the point standings. Hawes drives with only one hand and is a real crowd favorite with his hammer down, never quit attitude. As a matter of fact, at the last race Hawes not only flipped his bright yellow #7 while lapping slower cars but he also caught fire. When the flames were doused he fired up the car and in the few laps remaining wound up 5th anyway! When Hawes is on the track, he’s a factor. Watch for Hawes to make a statement Saturday night.

Another rocket fast chauffeur is Marysville’s Josh Vieira. Vieira was involved in a vicious crash last time out and it will be touch and go as to whether he’ll make Saturday’s show.

The rookies in this year’s Wingless Warrior class are outstanding. Three drivers are vying for the Rookie of the Year trophy and they all are capable of not only being competitive, but they can all win. 4-time MRP Mini Stock champion Misty Castleberry will be saddled up in the famous “Flyin’ Ford” sprinter. Wheatland’s Johnny Burns has moved up from the Pro 4 ranks and will be in his beautiful #56. But the rookie who has shown the most thus far is Yuba City’s Cameron Bartlett. Bartlett was 3rd on opening night ahead of some stellar competition. He followed that up with a credible 6th at the last outing.

The MRP Mini Stocks will also compete in event #3 of their season. Marysville’s Shaun Merritt carries a 9 point lead into Saturday’s competition. Yuba City’s Jason Clayton is hot on Merritt’s heals in the run for the title. Marysville’s Howard Law and Yuba City drivers Travis Carter, Kyle Davey and Erik Davey are all still in the hunt.

The MRP Hobby Stocks will be back with point leader Jeremy Hammons, of Marysville, leading the field in this slam-bang stock car class that features many local entries. Opening night winner Eddie Hammett of Marysville will be back to get into the title chase once again. Hammett missed the last race at MRP. He’ll be “loaded for bear” Saturday.

The Pro 4 Sprints and the crowd pleasing Nor Cal Dwarf Cars are also on tap in this ambitious 5-division program. It will be a rip-roarin’ good time at MRP on Saturday night.

Pit gate opens at 3PM. Grandstands open at 5PM. Hot Laps at 5.30. Racing begins at 6:30.

The text is based on information we have at the time of its release.

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect.