Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Veteran Wiesz flies to victory.
Scroggins, Foster, Machado and Castleberry also score.
By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - April 6, 2014... The “Colfax Comet”, Colby Wiesz flew to victory in the featured MRP Winged Sprint Car class around the rim of a terrifyingly fast Marysville Raceway Park Saturday night. The non-stop event was a whirlwind of high speed, breathtaking passes as the top contenders weaved their way through traffic. After front row starter Wiesz and fellow front row starter Jeremy Burt of Grass Valley caught the tail of the field, it was slice and dice all the way to the finish..

As Wiesz started to pull away, a stirring fight went on for the runner-up spot between Burt and Chico’s John Michael Bunch. Bunch prevailed with a late race pass that had the crowd on their collective feet. Defending champ Billy Wallace of Grass Valley was 4th at the end as Marysville’s Cort Dozier and rookie Jeremy Hawes battled for 5th with Dozier getting the position right at the end.

Yuba City’s Korey Lovell, Marysville’s Brandon Dozier and William Fielding grabbed heat race honors. Only one caution flag slowed the entire winged sprint car show.

In the companion MRP Super Stock feature, a bizarre series of events and several multi-car crashes decimated a fine field of cars and stars. When the smoke cleared, Marin’s Mitch Machado saw the checkers first after a race long battle with championship hopeful, Yuba City’s Phillip Shelby. Newcomer to MRP Shawn Smith had a fine run and grabbed 3rd behind the lead duo.

Championship hopefuls included Yuba City’s Jerry Bartlett and Cory Hall. Bartlett’s race ended with mechanical problems near half way as did Hall’s. Machado and Shelby won the heat races.

Rookie contender, in his first-ever MRP Wingless Sprint Car start, Evan Scroggins made a great late race pass on fellow rookie Erin Gustin to scoop up the victory laurels in that division. Scroggins, a recent graduate of the Pro 4 Sprint Cars became more confident with every lap completed and began to run down Gustin with 5 laps to go. He whistled on by and beat Gustin and Misty Castleberry at the checkers.

Marysville’s Josh Vieira flipped over on the front stretch in early race action, but righted the car and continued on to a 9th place finish. Sacramento’s Tim Sherman and Nathan Johnson won the heat races.

The MRP Mini Stock feature was a barn-burner. A three way fight for the entire distance among four drivers kept this one interesting. Front row starters Misty Castleberry and Linda’s James Foster had a war going on up front in the early laps and were joined at half way by Yuba City drivers Jimmy Ford and Greg Prather.

All four took turns leading and challenging one another in an entertaining, high energy chase. Foster got Castleberry for good with 2 to go and Ford grabbed second at the white flag. It was Foster, Ford, Castleberry and Prather as the checkers flew. Yuba City’s Kyle Davey and Ford won the heats.

Defending Pro 4 titlist Misty Castleberry dominated feature event action in that class as former champion Tim Maclaughlin of Colusa was a distant 2nd at the flag. Maclaughlin won the heat race.

Next Saturday night the mighty MRP Winged Sprint Cars will return with the MRP Wingless Sprint Cars. The MRP Super Stocks and Hobby Stocks will add some first class fender crunching excitement to the evening. The Nor Cal Dwarf Cars will also appear in their first 2014 outing. All this Saturday night at Yuba Sutter’s only professional sporting event stadium, Marysville Raceway Park.

Gates open at 5 with racing at 7:00PM.

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect. The text is based on information we have at the time of its release. Complete finishes, stats, assessed penalties and points become official and available at the close of business on Tuesday and will be posted to the web site and facebook pages.