Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Vieira and Bartlett score with late race moves!
By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - June 1, 2014... Saturday’s 5 division show at Paul and Kathy Hawes’ Marysville Raceway Park produced thrilling feature event finishes in a tight, well run show. Marysville’s Josh Vieira won in the MRP Wingless Sprint Car class after a nail biting battle. Yuba City’s Jerry Bartlett pulled off a last lap-last turn pass on former champion Corey Hall also from Yuba City to grab the honors in the MRP Super Stock closer. Linda’s James Foster easily outdistanced the MRP Mini Stock field as did Misty Castleberry and Jeremy Hammons in the Pro 4 and Hobby Stock divisions respectively. It was "Veteran's Night" at the raceway. It was race #2 in the year long Contingency Connection series.
In the MRP Wingless Sprint Car class front row starter and point leader Tim Sherman appeared to have another runaway victory in his future. But by half way Vieira was on the pedal and secured 2nd position as he rushed forward.
A long green flag segment and open track allowed Vieira to close. With 8 laps to go in the contest Vieira was there. A titanic struggle ensued as Sherman tried to protect his lead. Vieira wasn’t having any of it, and finally wrestled his way into the lead and on to the popular victory.
Vieira was leading last time out when he spun out of the lead and Sherman went on to win. It was sweet redemption for veteran Vieira who remains firmly entrenched in the year long point championship behind Sherman.

Behind the lead duo Woodland’s Peter Paulson and 2012 champion Brett Youngman of Grass Valley were 3rd and 4th across the line. Sherman and Youngman won the heat races.

The MRP Super Stock show was a real thriller! The event was dominated early by Corey Hall and, like Vieira, Bartlett had to go to work. It took Bartlett 17 of the 20 laps to reach 2nd place but as the white banner flew he was all over Hall. As the pair reached turn 3 on the final circuit Bartlett just threw his hot rod into the hooked up MRP clay, and it stuck.

The crowd rose in unison as Bartlett just did get by and won the race. The victory lane celebration was more like a party as fellow racer James Castleberry presented Bartlett with a most unusual welcome to victory lane. Brad Magenheimer of Tudor returned for the first time this season and finished a fine, competitive 3rd.

Bartlett and Marysville’s Rick Dozier won the heats. In a remarkable portent of things to come, Bartlett made a last lap-last turn pass for victory in his heat race as well

James Foster simply had the MRP Mini Stock field covered after Yuba City’s Kyle Davey and point leader Jimmy Ford had mechanical issues. Davey and Ford were the heat race winners.

Misty Castleberry continued her dominance of the Pro 4 division and won again. She has won every race and that puts her at the top of the point standings. Castleberry also won the heat race.

Jeremy Hammons of Yuba City easily made a repeat visit to victory lane in the MRP Hobby Stock division with Olivehurst’s Eddie Hammett in his wake. Yuba City’s Brian Cooper won the heat race.

Next Saturday night the mighty King of the West 410 Sprint Cars will take center stage. The traveling winged western states sprint car series that feature the biggest engines allowed in the sport will make their only appearance at MRP.

Gates open at 5 with racing at 7,

Look for the latest updates at or at the Marysville Raceway Park Facebook page.

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect. The text is based on information we have at the time of its release. Complete finishes, stats, assessed penalties and points become official and available at the close of business on Tuesday and will be posted to the web site and facebook pages.